Figured I'd better drop by here and flip the calendar. Did a couple things over in 'chuck hole, but haven't been tending to the flagship.

Got my name in the paper, and my picture too! The pic's from a couple of years ago, the beard is gone.

Not much to be merry about though, another May mass murder yesterday. Won't be the last. Can't figure out a reaction that makes any sense anymore. Somewhere between dumbfounded and despair, I guess.

We watched Otto last night. I loved it. I haven't read any reviews, but I'm certain it has been criticized for sentimentality. It was fine with me.

I think I'm going to watch Joe Versus the Volcano, Cast Away, and Otto all again, in that order. I think these three movies all deal with the same theme, and I wonder if Tom Hanks did this deliberately, with some intention. Faith and fear. The struggle with control. Life and death.

If I can muster the courage, I may watch Saving Private Ryan as well. I've only seen it once, and after I saw it, I didn't think I could ever watch it again. Haven't either. Had the same reaction to The Deer Hunter, and haven't seen it since I saw it in the theater. But I think Saving Private Ryan may have something to say that aligns with the other three.

My respect for Tom Hanks has grown immensely over the years.

Headed up to New York and Pennsylvania next week. Spending a few days with some Naval Academy classmates, and a few days with Mom. She's been putting some of the cards up on the wall outside her door and getting comments from her neighbors. Seems cool.

Bought a few more radios. There's a Grundig Satellit 800 inbound. Not sure what kind of shape it's in. Looked ok in the photos, but it's from the first year (2000) and there were some QA issues. Got a Sony ICF-2010 from 1985. Seller sold it for parts or "not working." Works fine, and really nice cosmetic shape. I'll look into getting it re-cap'ed. And just paid for a Grundig Yacht Boy 400 from about 1994, back when Grundig was kind of still Grundig and not Eton. I think.

Bought a Black & Decker Workmate a couple of weeks ago. Had one long ago, when I was married. Stayed in the garage when I moved out. New ones do seem to be built from lighter gauge steel, bamboo top. Anyway, needed it to hold some plywood while I cut it. Worked fine. The charger and cord hook for the RAV4 were screwed into drywall in the garage, and an unfortunate accident pulled them out. So I cut a piece of plywood, screwed it into some studs and mounted everything on that. Should be fine.

Anyway, that's probably enough for now. Lights are still on. Gotta call Mom in a few minutes, then a Tinderbox meet-up.

Back soon.

Or, eventually.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 09:58 Sunday, 7 May 2023