Still going through Twitter withdrawal. Feeling as though someone is doing or saying something faithless or reckless and it's my job to point it out. But I'm not doing my job. Somebody is "getting away with it."

I've been catching up on the blogs I follow. I read something yesterday, I think it was in a blog, that I wanted to write about today. Normally, I read in NetNewsWire, an RSS feed reader. And if it's something I want to refer back to, I'll star it in the reader. I checked the starred posts this morning, and I didn't find it.

It was essentially a re-statement of a part of T.S. Eliot's Little Gidding, familiar to anyone who watched Bill Moyers' Joseph Campbell series:

We shall not cease from exploration

And the end of all our exploring

Will be to arrive where we started

And know the place for the first time.

As I recall, it was in a much more pedestrian turn of phrase. But it caught my eye because one of my last tweets was about those lines above.

But, all is not lost, because it just now prompted me to go look for all of Little Gidding, and see what that was about. You can read it here.

I know you're busy today, and there's very little time for anything as frivolous as poetry, but I think you should read it.

I needed to, though I didn't know it. I knew enough to pay attention. "Paying" often resembles writing a post here in the underground.

Originally posted at Notes From the Underground 06:51 Tuesday, 23 May 2023