We watched Dungeons and Dragons, Honor Among Thieves last night. I guess Hasbro is trying to use its IP to build a movie franchise. I have no opinion on that. But the movie was entertaining. Just enough sly winks to make you feel like you're in on it without turning it into a farce.

Monday night we watched Maggie Moore(s), which was entertaining, though I think difficult to pin down. Dark comedy? Not great cinéma, but you can watch it and not feel like you were cheated out of your time.

In series TV, I stumbled on Deadloch on Prime and it's hysterical. Apparently it's in its first run, because you can't stream the whole thing yet. If it sounds appealing, wait a few weeks so you can binge watch it. It's a bit rude, crude and absurd but it makes me laugh more than any show about a serial killer should. My only complaint is they speak Aussie so fast, and over each other, that the subtitles blow by quicker than I can read them.

We've been watching High Desert on Apple TV+ and I'm ambivalent about it. I don't like any of the characters, but I find it's just fascinating watching Roseanna Arquette. She is what keeps me watching the show. It feels more sad than funny. Maybe it's supposed to?

Finally, we watched Take Care of Maya on Netflix yesterday afternoon. It's a documentary and I'd encourage anyone to watch it, and read some of the coverage about the case. It's tragic and infuriating; and while the things it's documenting don't exclusively happen in Florida, it's so very Florida.

You'll need to watch something else after, hence D&D above.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 07:56 Tuesday, 20 June 2023