The other day, I mentioned something that I've long believed. That technology isn't the solution to anything. At best, it's a tool. Tools don't solve problems, they help people solve problems. And most of our problems have to do with us. Our human nature.

We've grown enamored with our tools and our facility with making them. We have more faith in technology than we do in ourselves.

In the early days of blogging, the blogosphere was filled with internet triumphalists. "This changes everything!" Markets were conversations, everything was miscellaneous, gatekeepers were being overthrown, marginal costs were going to be zero for digital goods, yada, yada, yada...

It was all bullshit.

Bullshit. Bullshit. Bullshit.

I understand the euphoria, the enthusiasm. I understand the endocrine rewards of novelty and attention. I understand how the intoxication skews thought and reasoning.

And in a competitive, capitalist, attention-based economy, I understand how bullshit came to be dogma.

You don't find many of the triumphalists recanting these days. I don't expect many will.

So this was something of a refreshing read.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 10:11 Saturday, 19 August 2023