Huzzah! I actually slept through the night. Mostly. Fell back asleep when I woke up occasionally.

Woke to the alarm, turned it off and went back to sleep. Somehow I must have turned on the ringer on my iPhone, because I woke up again at 0600 when Mitzi texted. (Star Trek communicator hail.) She wanted to know if I was awake to FaceTime. Since HomeKit now works again, picture John Candy in Uncle Buck as he's roused from sleep by his brother to look after the kids and uses The Clapper to turn the lights on. Same thing, minus the cigarette.

Mitzi wanted to let me know she's probably going to miss her connection in Chicago. They're delayed out of Athens and she's got a very short layover. It was, let us say, "optimistic" to begin with. If she misses that one, she'll board it 24 hours later and get home tomorrow night.

Le sigh.

Went outside to see if I could see any stars or the moon, and we're still solidly overcast. Made a batch of caffeinated soft drink, and parked my ass in the command chair to see what fresh horrors occurred overnight.

Computer's in "dark mode," but there's one rectangle of white light on the screen in my otherwise darkened Command Cave. From my right I hear a loud buzzing coming in fast and something whizzes into the screen with a fairly substantial bang!

Suitably caffeinated, I jumped! What the hell?! Ordered Siri to bring office illumination to 100% and looked for whatever hell-spawned creature had violated the security perimeter of the cave.

Nothing.

Can't find the little bastard.

May have something to do with the region of extreme entropy within the cave. Or perhaps it's Klingon cloaking technology. Or was that Romulan? Romulan, I think.

Anyway, it's creeping around here somewhere, but it's not otherwise annoying me for the moment.

How's your Friday goin'?

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 07:04 Friday, 29 September 2023