I started a post yesterday, but didn't finish it. I don't wish to return to it just now, I don't want to publish it, but I don't want to throw it away either.

Fortunately, there's the "HTMLDontExport" attribute. Normally, it's a final sanity check for me, I have to uncheck the box to export and that serves as a final prompt to consider if I want to put this "out there." It was more important back in the day when I was somewhat more intemperate or vituperative. These days, I pretty much talk myself out of writing those posts before I sit down at the computer.

So it'll stay here in the marmot, and maybe I'll return to it one day.

Oddly enough, it has only just occurred to me now that I can use that facility to make the marmot a repository for more intimate musings that I don't wish to share. I don't keep a journal, per se, the marmot is as close as it gets. And it's been useful in that way, though everything I've written here has been with at least the initial intention of sharing it publicly.

Perhaps that's a good thing though. I think about what I'm writing when I intend to post it. Do I want to write things that don't require that degree of effort? Do I want to really think when I'm writing for an audience of one?

Maybe I do.

I'll think about it.

(Funnily enough, the preceding unpublished post was titled "Don't Even Think About It.")

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 09:25 Sunday, 10 December 2023