Finished the first season of Halo, and I'm rather impressed. It's not great, but it's entertaining. The production values are pretty high, which I guess is to be expected when you've got Spielberg involved.

It's free on Prime until the end of the month, then you'll have to subscribe to Paramount+ to watch season 2. I don't know if that drops right at the beginning of the year, though I suppose I could look it up.

For once I'd like a hard sf series that didn't depend on interplanetary conflict with an emphasis on armed warships, people wearing powered armor, alien artifacts, etc, etc.

Lost In Space was kind of that series, but it never really clicked with me. For All Mankind is just getting tedious. It's too "on the nose," without being clever or funny like Upload is. But it's "serious," so I guess it can't be.

Almost Human, with Karl Urban from a decade ago was good. I was disappointed it didn't go on for a couple of seasons. Kind of an Alien Nation series without the aliens.

I'm looking forward to a post-apocalyptic series about the collapse of civilization. Flooded New York City or Miami. Fallout zones from limited nuclear exchanges. Regional warlords. Roving gangs. Highwaymen. Small communities trying to keep going, solving problems with food supplies, failing infrastructure, lack of industry, spare parts. All the things our grandchildren have to look forward to. Kind of like The Last of Us, only without the mushrooms.

That'd be a fun watch.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 08:04 Saturday, 16 December 2023