"TBPO" is an acronym for "the band played on." It's mostly a reference to the Titanic, though it's obliquely related to the movie And The Band Played On about the AIDS crisis, because of course it is.

Reading articles in the Miami Herald that discuss "climate relocation" ("retreat here, growth there") in the same kind of detached tone that one reads about Trump's increasingly hard-right, fascist rhetoric makes my feeling of cognitive dissonance feel liky my tinnitus, an existential scream going on in my mind that I have to ignore because I have to carry on.

I think I'm going to preface mundane, formerly "cheese sandwich" (back in the GHD days), posts with TBPO to indicate that I'm aware that the ship is sinking, the house is on fire, the wolf is at the door, it's one minute to midnight, but yeah, life goes on.

Embrace the absurdity, I guess.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 07:15 Monday, 18 December 2023