We spent the last couple of days in Charleston, South Carolina, with Mitzi's daughter and son-in-law and her grandson. We were there after the rain.

But we were there when the former governor, Nikki Haley, bungled a question that should have been easy to answer as the former governor of the state that was the first to secede and fired the first shot in the Civil War. Something that was very much on my mind as we walked the streets of Charleston.

It wasn't my first time there. Mitzi and I were there several years ago for a wedding, and I was there at least a couple of times in the navy. I wasn't thinking about the Civil War when I was there in uniform. Thinking about it a lot these days.

I wonder how Florida State fans feel about paying to go to the Orange Bowl to watch an embarrassing blow-out? I have to think this will only encourage the school and the state to pursue litigation.

Money ruins everything, doesn't it? Well, greed, anyway.

There's an asteroid that's going to pass within 20,000 miles of earth in 2029! Visible from parts of earth to the naked eye at night. Apophis first got everyone's attention back in 2004 when it was discovered and an impact could't be ruled out. Since then, we've had more observations and a collision is out of the question for at least a century.

But we are going to get a close look at this one. Hope I'm still around to see it.

I've probably got some maintenance to do on the marmot to make sure the transition to 2024 goes okay.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 07:03 Sunday, 31 December 2023