Just because I'm making these posts for my future (December) self, I had a little glitch there. I tabbed the This Morning's Hawk post out of the January container, in order to tab it back in and have the prototype fix the html. I could have done that manually, but I figured this was two keystrokes and I was done.

Not so much. It tabbed back in with the "do not export" safety enabled, and I didn't catch it. I exported and looked at the page and the post was missing. Head scratch moment. Looked at the post and the "do not export" tick-mark leapt out at me.

When the script creates the note, it assigns the prototype and seemingly avoids the container's "on add" action, which normally assigns a "p_Post wx" prototype. Image posts use the "p_Photo" prototype. When I slipped it out and back in, the container's "on add" action assigned it the normal post prototype, which is fine in this case, other than the "do not export" bit. The "p_Photo" prototype contains all the html markup and attributes to post a photo. Those were already in place, albeit wrong, pointing to the 2023 Images folder. They don't conflict with any attributes in "p_Post wx", so all the html and note text was still in place and unaltered by shifting it in and out.

But, since the html came from the "p_Photo" prototype and tabbing it back in had the container switch it to a "p_Post wx", it didn't change the html. Because it couldn't.

All I had to do was manually change "2023" to "2024" in the html and all would have been well, a matter of only one keystroke!

Now, a kinder blogger would simply leave the "do not export" safety enabled, and this post will be here in December for me to review to make sure I don't screw this up again, yet not burdening you, gentle reader, with details about Tinderbox that you neither know nor care about.

Since I'm "thinking out loud" here, I think I'll publish this anyway.

And if I haven't absolutely put you off ever even considering Tinderbox, I'll point out that it's on sale in the Winterfest promotion. And if I can muddle my way through using this app, you can too. I've been loving it for 20 years.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 11:48 Thursday, 4 January 2024