Welp... I bought it. The OM-5. Not the "pre-owned" one, a new one. I figured for $150, I might as well have the certainty of getting a new camera. I went back through my email and found the times when I'd bought a "new" camera. Most of the cameras I buy are used, er "pre-owned" or refurbs from Olympus.

I wanted to see what the interval is on these purchases that cause such angst.

PEN F in Mar 2018

E-M1 Mk 2 in Jan 2019

E-M1X in Nov 2020

E-M1 Mk 3 in Jun 2021

OM-1 in Feb 2022 (shipped in Aug 22)

The OM-1 was the most expensive of these, bought at list price on release. The E-M1 Mk 2 was the second most expensive, but it came with the 12-40mm/f2.8 lens. The others were discounted from their launch price, often significantly, in the case of the E-M1X.

Prior to the E-M1 Mk 2, I didn't buy a flagship camera every year. I bought the original E-M5 and E-M1 upon release and then didn't buy another "new" body for five years. I retired in 2013, just before I bought the E-M1. I could live on my navy pension. Though I wasn't "rich," my time was worth more to me than what any employer would pay.

I bought the PEN F because it was going out of production and I wanted a new body, rather than used. It was a flagship camera, the highest-spec PEN body Olympus released.

In 2019 I started drawing Social Security and we moved into a house that was less expensive to own than my condo, so my "discretionary income" increased significantly. The mortgage, taxes, solar and battery loan, HOA fee and CDD (a local development bond repayment) fees are all less than my mortgage and HOA fees were at the condo. Hurray for low interest rates! Can't walk to the beach though. Alas.

But I still have angst about buying these big-ticket, "luxury" items. I bought it yesterday after giving up on wrestling with it, as I suspected I would. Then experienced exactly what I knew I would, this brief, intense period of self-loathing. And now I'm fine with it. Mostly.

It's a ridiculous number of cameras. This list doesn't include a large number of used cameras I have for one reason or another, none of them strictly "rational." It's not a financial problem, it's mostly one of space, shelf and cognitive.

The E-M1 Mk 3 becomes somewhat redundant, given that the OM-5 replicates its feature set, albeit in a smaller body. I may sell it, maybe not. The OM-5 will become my daily walk camera. I'll be giving up the bird recognition feature of the OM-1, but I was doing okay with the E-M10 Mk 4 which lacked it as well.

The E-M1X is the home of the 100-400mm zoom, my largest lens. While its sensor isn't as up to spec as the OM-1, it's "good enough," and it's easier to handle that big lens on that big body, I don't have a grip for the OM-1 and I'm not inclined to get one.

I'm aware of my privilege and good fortune, and some of my discomfort is due to that awareness. I enjoy photography, and it seems I have some addiction to "gear." I'd like to believe I probably won't buy another "new" camera for many years, but recent history suggests that may be wishful thinking.

If the doom-sayers are correct, OMDS may have only one or two more cameras left in its future anyway. But I'll be in the micro-four thirds system for the rest of my life, no matter what. Or until even that becomes too heavy, which will likely spell the end of my practice.

Looking forward to playing with my new toy.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 07:56 Friday, 12 January 2024