I feel as though I should elaborate a bit on the preceding post. I alluded to why I decided to shoot a weed, but perhaps a little more context is helpful.

This little weed was poking itself up defiantly in the middle of the manicured sod surrounding it. I admired it for that. What defines a "suburban bourgeois landscape" more than acres and acres of carefully maintained grass?

It's fortunate that we're in "winter" where the landscapers mow less frequently as the grass is somewhat dormant. Soon enough, the establishment will be along with its mechanized means of violently enforcing conformity.

I could have done wider shot to establish that visually; but I thought the little flower deserved its moment memorialized more as a portrait.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 09:22 Sunday, 14 January 2024