I'm going to have to endure another brief period of self-loathing again.

I was browsing through Apple News and read something about 14" M3 MacBook Pros being up at the Apple Refurb store.

So I logged into the Veterans store for an additional discount and did some browsing around.

I bought a 13" M1 MBP back in November 2020. I mainly use it when we're away from home for more than a few days, or when I want to do something at home, but away from my office. Not a lot lately, as I didn't configure it beyond the base 256GB of storage and I often have to dangle an external drive off of it, and it's kind of a hassle. (First world problem of the privileged, I know.)

Well, I looked at a 24GB, 2TB M3 14" MBP and it came in at a hair under $2K. I figured that'd be relatively "future-proof" as a laptop. I'm not sure it could replace my 2019 iMac, but maybe it could. In any event, I closed all the tabs last night and figured I'd sleep on it.

I woke up thinking there are probably better things I could do with $2K. I often think I need to start a "prepper" shopping list. But I'm 66, and I live in a suburban wasteland. Who am I kidding? If things go south in a hurry, probably the best thing for me to do is die and get out of the way, rather than play "run, hide, fight." But who knows? Maybe that day won't come until I'm 86, which will make that a much easier proposition. And I could get hit by a meteor between now and then anyway.

One day at a time. Appreciate what I have now.

As something in the back of my mind knew I would, I went back to the store, and it should be here on Tuesday.

Probably not the best use of my money, and I hope I won't regret it, but I'm trying to be kinder to myself.

In other news, I got a nice thank you note yesterday from the Tidewater Wooden Boat School for a $525 donation I made late last year.

It's not all about me.

Mostly. But not all.

OBTW: 80°F in February. I'd be alarmed if it wasn't so nice.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 13:37 Sunday, 11 February 2024