The log project has prompted some renewed interest in computer stuff. There was a time when I found all of this fascinating, but in the last several years I guess I've grown jaded, or just old, and it's all been just frustrating.

It's still a little frustrating, but it feels as though it might not be entirely out of reach.

Captain's Log has produced Midwatch entries at 01:16 this morning and yesterday morning. Not quite midnight, but close enough for my purposes.

I know I need to create a prototype for Midwatch, because I don't want every "entry" to inherit the "run command" feature. But I can assign the Midwatch prototype the p_Entry prototype (prototypes can inherit prototypes). The only thing the p_Entry prototype does, for now, is set the Displayed Attributes for an entry, including $Created (date and time entry was made) and a couple of $URL attributes, so those are always visible in every entry.

I made plans to go visit Mom in April yesterday, and I was logging all the confirmation emails for the flight, the hotel and the rental car. The 14" MPB will accompany me, so the log is available, though not exactly as accessible as if it were on an iPad or something.

Another idea is to automatically create a weekly "Review" note, in part as a prompt, but maybe it will consolidate some data as well. Maybe as an agent, so it's not a new "entry" every week, but something at the top of the Log to go through. Haven't fully thought it out yet, but it's in mind.

Still casting about for something for the Midwatch entry to do, I decided to see if there was some kind of command line interface to the ARANet4. Seems like there might be, but I have to figure out how to do all this Python stuff. So that's a project for the next few days. Learn about Terminal and Python, maybe get the iMac talking to the sensor. I have the app on my phone, and of course the vendor doesn't offer any Shortcuts integrations. It's not like it's vital information, it's just something for me to learn about Terminal, "run command," Tinderbox, Python and so on. I'd also like to query my Ambient Weather weather station. I'm not sure if that's harder, but it looks harder. Need an API and stuff. Later maybe.

And do I want to download a small GOES image every night? Why? Well, maybe because I can? I don't know. Thinking about it. Which is a distraction from figuring out all the ARANet4 stuff. "Too many mind."

Anyhow, kind of excited.

Oh, I listened to a Mac Power Users podcast last night while the women were watching The Academy Awards. Couple of things struck me. CRIMP, which dates back 18 years or more. Been there, done that. Decided to stick with Tinderbox a few years ago, as it's kind of stuck with me for over twenty years. This Rules thing seemed kind of interesting. Not exactly the same as attaching an Automator action to an event, but it may have some application. The guest, Ryan J.A. Murphy, also spoke about using Obsidian to capture family stories, which was kind of an eerie coincidence ("There are no coincidences."), but I think Phil Nunnally mentioned something exactly like that at the Tinderbox meetup. Maybe it's something going around in the PKM space. (A more industrious man, maybe "courteous" would be the right word, would listen to the whole thing again and find the spot where he thought Phil mentions that, and link to that moment.)

Anyway, cool podcast to listen to at 1.5x speed.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 06:01 Monday, 11 March 2024