AKMA noted that I've been paying attention to his blog, and I look forward to his new excursions from the day-to-day to the eternal. We all could use a little more of that around this joint.

Anyway, he linked to my micro.blog post from the other day, which still has my typo in the title. One thing leads to another, and I'm clicking around my micro.blog, which I something I seldom do. Anyway, I click on the Photos link in the nav bar and get this page.

I'm not sure how that page gets created, because I've posted more photos than that. Anyway, there's screenshot of the marmot, and I wondered what that was about, so I clicked on it and it's a post from just a little over a year ago. And what caught my eye was the screenshot of the Document pane of the Tinderbox Inspector window. 966 Notes, 377,351 words and 608 links in the marmot as of 18 Feb 23.

As of this moment, there are 1,480 Notes, 536,793 words and 1.047 links in the marmot. That's 514 more Notes (posts). The marmot's been around since late 2013 and in the last year I've added more than half the total number of posts than I'd written in the preceding decade.

That's what getting off of Twitter and Facebook will do for you.

I don't track my output here. It's not something I'm terribly interested in, I was just curious since I had a screenshot (snapshot) of that moment from about a year ago.

While you may have an account or a profile on some social media platform, "all your words are belong to us," to paraphrase something from a long time ago. The marmot is all mine, though I share it with you.

I think social media platforms are a net negative. While they lower barriers and reduce friction for people to interact on line, they do so to harvest our energy, our data, our souls.

I happen to think it's the corrosive, corrupted consequence of that misbegotten misunderstanding made by a marketer that, "Markets are conversations."

The commercial and the social are orthogonal concepts and dimensions. Trying to conflate them isn't "doing your best." It's about "making the sale." Whether it's the idea itself, or the products that poison us, it's all about making the sale.

Screw that. Look where it's gotten us.

"Begin with the end in mind."

"The end" is the place we're all headed for.

And it ain't the bank.

Figure it out.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 07:24 Tuesday, 12 March 2024