Great blue heron silhouetted against the morning sun's reflection in a retention pond

After this morning's "work," I went for my walk. It looked cloudy and I wasn't sure the light would be favorable, so I didn't bring the OM-1 with the 75-300. Instead, I just stuffed the OM-5 in my vest pocket and headed out.

A pair of swallow-tailed kites whistled overhead, I wouldn't have been fast enough to get them anyway. It was fun watching them fly though.

I mainly walk to get some exercise, but I carry a camera because I "see things" that "look like a photograph." And I usually want to get the walk done quickly, because there's usually something else I'd rather be doing than walking. (Other times I'd rather be walking when I'm doing something else. I'm a complicated and conflicted guy.) So there's always some tension on the photography piece.

I saw the blue heron and didn't think it amounted to much until I began to pass it and saw its silhouette against the light in the retention pond. Does it "look like a photograph?" I thought so, but I could be wrong. Other people are more talented than me. (I? Better writers too.)

I got back and made my breakfast, then went to the garden to water our new plants. They looked fine, not stressed at all. Then on to Publix to buy more eggs, mushrooms, spinach avocados, 78% cacao dark chocolate, deluxe mixed nuts (no 'lightly salted," alas), blueberries, and raspberries. On the way out I went down the ice cream aisle. BOGO on Ben & Jerry's!

Did I mention today is Mitzi's sister's birthday? The one who's staying with us?

Yeah, ice cream tonight.

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 13:29 Saturday, 16 March 2024