Read this last night in NetNewsWire, and had a bit of a scare. I've been following Howard Oakley's series on how iCloud drive works, and I'm probably as confused as I ever was. DaisyDisk reports that I have 35GB "free" on my 1TB internal SSD. Storage in System Preferences reports that I've used 493GB of my 1TB internal storage. Finally, I just got through archiving and/or deleting several thousand emails (archived to an external SSD) and Daisy Disk says I have 5GB less available space than I had this morning when I started!

Yes, I've emptied the trash in Finder and in Mail.

Oy.

Broadband internet and huge storage has turned me into a digital packrat. But Apple's fancy, sleight-of-hand, now you see it, now you don't file system had just made it a clusterfuck.

Anyway, that's how I spent my morning. Archiving emails, deleting them, scanning the hard drive, and winding up with less "available" space than I started.

The peak of our civilization.

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 13:21 Wednesday, 20 March 2024