The E-PL7 is inbound and should be here on Monday. Caitie was here the other day, and we were looking at Canon mirrorless cameras. She does some semi-professional work as an adjunct to her salon work. She's had a couple of product promotion shoots for, I think, an advertising firm. They don't pay much, but she enjoys the work.

I'd given her my E-M10 Mk2 over a year ago and encouraged her to shoot with it and find out what it can do. But film, and then medium format film and now full-frame digital have all turned her head and she's never, to my knowledge, done very much with little Oly. I offered to buy it back from her to help pay for a Canon body, but she said she'd return it to me.

I don't need the 10, but I'd like to have it again. I don't really have shelf space for it, but I can make room if I have to.

The biggest thing I'm missing in my photographic endeavors is subjects. And that's mostly because I'm kind of lazy. Well, not "kind of," I'm just lazy. If we go out somewhere, I bring a camera because there'll be something different to shoot. But I don't go out just to shoot. I should probably change that.

When I was single, I went out a lot more socially. It's important to add that we didn't have COVID back then either. I'd much rather risk second-hand smoke at trivia than COVID, though I suppose a case could be made that they might be equally risky. And I lived in a place that offered a lot of interesting subjects. Here I live in an "interest" desert. A sterile void of suburban conformity. I can get out to the kayak launch point and do some wetlands and birds and what have you, and I should do that more often, but I like shooting other stuff too.

I guess I'm just talking to myself, trying to convince myself to get out of this neighborhood and bring a camera. The thing is, you have to go pretty far, as Nocatee is pretty much entirely devoid of interest, unless you're looking to shoot real estate marketing brochures. I should probably look for the absurdity. I usually like to look for wear, or decay, something that indicates the passage of time, which is, I suppose, a kind of story-telling. There is a lot of absurdity here. But that's in your face everywhere these days. Not sure I need to capture it in images.

Anyway, in the car in a little while to bring Mitzi and Judy to the airport. Mitzi is accompanying Judy back to New York because Judy has some understandable anxiety at the moment. They're going to wheel her through the airport to avoid the risk of a tumble. She's mobile again, but it's likely a few more weeks before her pelvis is completely healed, and it'll never be especially durable anyway.

Mitzi will stay with Judy for a week, and so I'll have the car and I should probably take advantage of that to get out of here and do something different.

We'll see. I'd say I'm a "creature of habit," and there is something to that. But mostly I think I'm just lazy.

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 07:23 Saturday, 23 March 2024