Slept pretty well last night. Some dreams related to watching 3 Body Problem, but not nightmares. Can't recall them now. Got about halfway through the 4K HDR version of Aliens before I gave up and went to bed.

I'd read the first book in the 3 Body Problem several yeas ago, 2020 maybe? When I was a kid, I could recall every part of a science fiction book I'd read. Not so much anymore. I gather they've made significant changes to aspects of the story. I didn't recall the Panama Canal incident until just before it was revealed. I've lost a step or three, because who could forget that?

I've got two episodes left, and I like it overall. I'll finish it tonight.

Aliens looks good in 4K HDR. I don't think it's revelatory. Sigourney Weaver's skin was amazing. I mean, that's the kind of thing you notice at these resolutions. It's also strange the things you think about after seeing a movie many times, and being a much older viewer now.

Like, Gorman's got maybe a platoon of marines? Backup or reinforcements are months away at best. They encounter this significant "xenomorph" infrastructure at the base of the atmosphere processing plant where all the colonists are apparently located. And they decide to just go in anyway? Then keep going when they realize they can't fire their rifles? Then keep going when they encounter the first dead colonists?

After Ripley's report of what they're likely to encounter?

After seeing the stuff in the med lab? After seeing the colonists put up a fight?

Cameron made Gorman monumentally stupid. Which, I guess could be forgiven. But Bishop? "By omission of action," can't harm humans? Seems like he might have spoken up and suggested they retreat to the ship and report their findings to headquarters and await reinforcements.

I can recall how much l loved that movie as a 29-year-old lieutenant. So I guess I should cut Gorman some slack. But Bishop? Wow. That movie just got a whole lot creepier.

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 06:06 Sunday, 24 March 2024