I replaced the batteries in the kitchen radio this morning. I use Eneloop Pros (the black ones) in it and some of the other radios and sensors around here. I logged it, as I've been logging replacing the air filter on the air handler, and will on the air purifier (BlueAir Pure 211+), and the water filter in the fridge, which went south last night.

I decided I wanted to have a container that gathered all those "replace" notes so I could quickly see when the last time was I replaced something. I want to get a better idea of the longevity of the Eneloop Pros in certain applications, and then compare that with using the regular (white) Eneloops. Likewise with the water filter in the refrigerator. The fridge usually reports that it's time to change the filter, but it hasn't this time. We had an additional person in the household for the past two months, so perhaps the extra demand caused it to expire early.

Anyway, I needed to create an Agent to look for notes that contain the word "replace" in the $Name. That's a pretty safe query for a comprehensive list, as I usually begin the log entry "Replaced batteries in..." or "Replaced air filter..." The entry records the action I performed, so it's unlikely I'll ever make an entry that doesn't include that word.

So the agent query looks like this:

$Name.contains("Replace")

This returned four entries:

Replaced batteries in ARANet4

Replaced batteries in air quality sensor (indoors)

Replaced batteries in kitchen radio

Ordered Replacement Water Filters

I don't know why I used title case on that last entry, because I was surprised to see it. The .contains dot-operator is case-sensitive. If I had written "Ordered replacement water filters," I don't think it would have gathered it. So I changed the $Name in the original to sentence-case, and indeed it vanished from the results.

Just to exercise my Tinderbox-fu, I changed the dot-operator to .icontains (case-insensitive), and sure enough, the sentence-case entry returned.

I'll leave it case-insensitive for now.

Just gonna high-five myself and go take a nap.

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 11:26 Thursday, 28 March 2024