The ventless dryer works as advertised. In fact, I was impressed that I couldn't really tell anything different from using the regular dryer. The clothes maybe weren't quite as hot coming out of it, but they were definitely warm and dry.

I glanced at the Tesla app to see how much power the house was pulling during the drying cycle, and I'm guessing it was about 800 watts, which is a fraction of what the normal dryer load is. That'll be healthier, long term, for the Powerwalls, and allow us to be more self-sufficient or put more power on the grid.

I didn't install the optional drain hose because I wanted to see if it worked before I did all that. The drum was pretty near full, I suppose I could have added the tablecloth that was in the wash with the rest of that load, but I didn't want to go too far. At any rate, a nearly full drum extracted almost exactly 1.5l (that's "liters," since that was the side of the measuring cup I could see) of water. It collects in a reservoir at the top of the dryer that you have to empty between loads.

Once I was certain it worked, I wanted to connect the drain hose since Mitzi wasn't keen on emptying the reservoir. I wanted to use it to poor on the plants outside. But she's in charge of laundry, so what she says goes.

So, where's the hose? You'd think they'd tell you, but unless I'm blind, nowhere in the manual does it mention that it's in the accessories box. I found it there as a last resort. It wasn't like any hose I expected, which was good too, very thin; because I had to wedge it in with the drain hose from the washer, and there was just enough room to do it.

Removing the standard hose from the back of the dryer was tough. (The standard, internal hose, carries the water from the condenser to the reservoir.) Just pull really hard. Harder than you think you ought to. After that, the hardest part was finding a way to wedge it in with the washer hose, working in very close confines with little visibility.

I installed the LG Thinq app, and that was kind of a pain. Got the dryer on the network, so I can see what it's up to. I don't see a great deal of utility in it, but maybe it'll prove more useful going forward. I expect it's more a surveillance capitalism effort than anything else.

The big mystery is what happened to the little rack that went in the drum for drying things "flat." I'm certain it was in the drum when it arrived, the literature was sitting on it. But looking around after getting the drain all hooked up, I couldn't find it. Anywhere. I can't imagine the delivery guys took it with them, unless they thought it was part of the packing material. Anyway, chatted with a Home Depot rep by text and we're supposed to follow up on Monday and see what the status is.

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 16:09 Friday, 29 March 2024