The sun's shining in the front door, so I'm going to wait a little while before I try to watch TV. Figure I'll watch a couple more episodes of Fallout and then read a bit.

I periodically re-read my posts in NetNewsWire, because I'll pick up errors that I missed in Tinderbox or the web page. I don't know why. But re-reading the post about multiplying USB cables, I realize I may have left the impression that I don't know what Fallout is based on. I do know. In fact, one of the original versions, maybe the first one, was available on the Mac and I had it. I never got out of the cave. So, yeah, I know it's a game adaptation, like The Last of Us.

Unlike Fallout, that adaptation came from a game with a genuine storyline and characters you could care about. Fallout just feels like a cash grab. High production values, but otherwise empty. Like a Saturday morning cartoon.

Speaking of re-reading posts in NetNewsWire, a correspondent reported that the RSS link was broken. At first, I couldn't figure out what he was talking about, since it was working just fine in NetNewsWire. I just stumbled on it, after recalling his report as I was writing this.

When I deleted my Mastodon account, I tried to delete it from the sidebar on the marmot.

Somehow, that got fouled up and the rss link pointed to the Mastodon account.

All fixed now, for this month. I may use BBEdit and search & replace (delete) that link in all the pages it appears in. But I'm lazy and, well, I may not.

But the rss link should be fine going forward. Thanks, Richard!

I'm still reading Takeover, about the six months before Hitler took power. (It's really more than six months, but it focuses on that period as the narrative structure.) I'm reading it in my little Kindle device, and I decided to read that manual today, to see what I wasn't taking advantage of. I emailed myself some highlights. Seems useful.

The book is very good, but the author likes to leap back years or months to provide context for events occurring in the main timeline, and it can get confusing. It's another book, especially as an ebook, that would benefit from a timeline.

While Germany was a parliamentary system, with many parties, there are still so many profound parallels to the circumstances we find ourselves in today.

And in other news, I found the 14" M3 MBP charger, plugged into the power strip behind the recliner where I left it. It's a 70W device, now labeled as such.

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 19:08 Tuesday, 16 April 2024