Yesterday was Earth Day, which I mostly ignored.

On Sunday, I got a phone call from the candidate recruitment committee of the Florida Democratic Environmental Caucus. It went to voicemail because I have focus modes turned on all the time. That's an outcome from turning 65 and being inundated with unsolicited calls about Medicare Advantage plans.

I returned their call yesterday and told them I no longer lived in that district (It moved, I didn't.) and no way in hell was I going to run for anything again. Whereupon I then shared much of my frustration with politics in Florida with the poor woman. I did say I was available to offer any guidance or insight I could if they manage to find a candidate. She was quite patient and understanding.

I mentioned that I thought they were going about this the wrong way. They shouldn't be looking for people to run in this year's election, this year. They should recruit someone to run two years from now, help them form a committee and raise money.

Not sure the message got through.

Also pretty sure it wouldn't matter. Florida is gerrymandered to a permanent Republican majority.

When we get one or two major hurricanes in a season, and the insurance market implodes, then maybe people will be willing to listen to an alternative. For now, we're all trapped in a clown car on a highway to hell.

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 16:29 Tuesday, 23 April 2024