I'm not, but, yeah. It's relevant.

I was pleased to read this piece and the comments in Protons for Breakfast. Flying is one of the most carbon-intensive things we can do. And, although flying is much more accessible today, it remains something of mode of transport for the privileged. More so since the airlines have figured out how to stratify the cabin space to maximize the revenue.

I won't go to Europe again. Or any other continent for that matter. I can't "enjoy" travel that I know has consequences for others that I will never have to bear. I don't judge people who do. Mitzi went to Greece with her daughter. I've been to Greece (over 40 years ago). I'm not going to begrudge them the opportunity to do so.

Now, I do fly in North America to see family or friends. If I had family or friends on another continent, I'd probably fly for that too. I believe it's important to maintain those relationships. I wish we had high-speed rail in North America, I'd be all over it. But we don't. I looked at going to Los Angeles by train. It'd take me a week and cost a fortune.

I don't think we'll see trans-continental high-speed rail in this country in my lifetime. We lack the political will to achieve anything great. Our elected officials are focused on each other and not the country they serve.

But I was happy to read about others who may be thinking the same.

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 19:28 Thursday, 25 April 2024