Rather than append something to the preceding post, I figured I'd just do another one.

Plus, I'm putting off doing another chore I'm not looking forward to.

But, in case it ever comes in handy, which it probably won't, here's how to get the screws in the second time without the bottom one going tink! (Not that it would have mattered at that point, the brine tank was empty.)

Do the bottom one first. I put the screw through the part, and because it wasn't already married up to the piece it was to be screwed into, there was more light as screw and part approached the black hole in the black plastic. A little more contrast, and an easier target to hit. Having the screw in the part gave me an additional point of control over the shaft of the screw, with the head being controlled by the screwdriver.

It was still fiddly, finding the hole, but the screw didn't go anywhere.

And a reminder, when screwing into plastic parts that are already threaded by what appeared to be a self-tapping screw, turn the driver counter-clockwise until you feel the screw give a little thunk, and settle into the hole, so you know you're married up to the threads.

As always, I'm an authority on nothing. I make all this shit up. (Obviously. As I go along.)

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 10:40 Tuesday, 30 April 2024