I watched the May 7 event on my iMac. First, I was amazed they used a Sonny and Cher number. (Though I wondered if it had been re-mixed or digitally altered in some fashion. It didn't sound like I remembered it, though I haven't heard it in decades.)

Then I processed all the creative props.

Then I was startled when they started to crush them.

Then I thought it seemed to be going on a bit too long.

Finally I figured out that they were "crushing" them into the new M4 iPad, just before the big reveal.

So I can't claim any cultural revulsion at the spectacle. I just thought it was kind of dumb.

But I am quite happy that others noticed and found it revolting.

And I agree, though I'm kind of ashamed I didn't have that reaction initially. It's a terrible ad.

I still use Apple products because I'm embedded in that ecosystem now. Cognitively, and in the artifacts.

But I have no love for Apple anymore. It's just another mega-corporation.

And I think this colossal misstep and the embarrassment it should bring is a wonderful thing.

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 09:48 Thursday, 9 May 2024