Haven't spoken with the marmot for a few days. I'd closed it on the iMac and opened it on the MBP on Sunday, though I didn't really need to. I closed it from the MBP using Screens, logging into the iMac "remotely." The iMac's UI is tiny on the 14" MBP, and I think I clicked the wrong button and discarded changes because the Cybertruck post was missing this morning.

So, expecting nothing but having nothing to lose, I tried Revert from the File menu again. The interface acted normally this time (Perhaps updating to Sonoma 14.5 helped?) But what was odd was that the version I wanted showed a blank image with a faded iCloud download icon. I clicked that and hoped for the best.

Howard Oakley has said that versions are stored locally on the Mac. Maybe that's changed?

Anyway, after some roaring fans and a lengthy period of the Spinning Pinwheel of Infinite Futility™, the desired version with the Cybertruck post appeared and I clicked Revert (or something). That process seemed to take less time, and didn't involve the roar of cooling fans, and the canonical version of the marmot was restored.

I clicked Save right away, because when this has seemingly worked in the past, Tinderbox usually crashed immediately after.

No crash.

I think Apple may have fixed something in 14.5, which would be cool.

Anyway, here we are.

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 06:44 Wednesday, 15 May 2024