Well, a kayak anyway. Mitzi has a kayak, but it's a rigid one, takes up a lot of space in the garage, is awkward to muscle around and get on top of the car and it's been in the water exactly once.

Dr. Drang bought a folding kayak back in May. I think that's what got me thinking about it. At any rate, I didn't buy a folding kayak, though that was kind of where I was leaning. I ended up getting an inflatable kayak. One of these (on sale for a few more days). I got the Pro package. I don't fish and I'm uncertain about the sail thing. Maybe later.

It should be here by Friday. I don't know if I'll get it in the water right away, it's hot and miserable here right now.

My interest isn't in exercise, it's to get out on the water a little bit with a camera. The inflatable seems more suitable to me in that regard, with a higher freeboard and perhaps less risk of getting water in the boat with the camera. I'll start out with the TG-6 which is a "Tough" camera and capable of being submerged. Get a sense of how to handle the kayak, where water goes, how stable it is (reportedly very stable) and so on.

It seems very inexpensive and, depending on my experience here, I may order another one next summer have it delivered to the other place. You can rent kayaks fairly readily in the Finger Lakes, but having your own offers some additional flexibility in terms of where you put in and paddle around.

I have an inflatable standup paddle board, but I've never been confident enough to actually use it. It's never been in the water. Doesn't take up much space though.

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 09:35 Sunday, 28 July 2024