Went out yesterday to finally address the cable issue on my bike, and clean up the residue (chiefly a lot of cardboard and clipped remains of zip-ties).

I will give Swytch props for packaging. There were two bits of foam in the box that surrounded the axle of the wheel. Otherwise, all cardboard. Well designed, well laid out, easy to recycle.

There's a large bit of text on the box that suggests it should not be stored in the vertical position, but laid flat. Of course nobody notices that. It was left on my doorstep vertically, and I left it vertical when I brought it inside. It wasn't until I put it in the garage that I laid it flat and noticed the advisory or warning. Unsure why that was important, but pretty sure nobody is paying attention to it.

I used some heat shrink tubing to kind of cleverly seal up the two mystery connectors. I didn't have a piece large enough to enclose both connectors, so I used two pieces then stuck a piece, bent like a U over the two ends of now shrunk tubing and shrank that. Not pretty, but I think it'll keep water out. Maybe they should have capped the connectors you're not supposed to use?????

(The unnecessary cap didn't fit either of the other connectors.)

Found my flashlight.

Bike's black, cables are black, heat shrink is black. A lot of cables, but they're not super-noticeable. I pulled the 20mph stickers off both sides of the battery. (19.6 mph, "actually.")

Put a label on the charger so someone besides myself will know what it goes to, because there's nothing on the charger that suggests what it's for.

And, as of this writing, I still have not heard from switch regarding my support issue.

But it works.

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 06:01 Wednesday, 18 September 2024