Got the replacement keys I ordered for the //c. Seller didn't have an up-arrow in stock, so I've ordered one of those from another seller for a much higher price. Replaced the broken key switch and got the keycaps all installed. The replacement "D" key is a different color or shade of gray, but it's not super-noticeable.

I discovered the space bar was damaged. The little clips that secure the metal bar are broken, so the right side of the bar won't depress the key switch. I'm looking for a replacement, but there don't seem to be any available at the moment. The little brown clips are also on the shift keys, so I may order one of those and try to graft them onto the space bar.

I may go out this afternoon and open up the IIe again, and pull the power supply. I just need to see what the Rifa capacitor situation is. They may have blown years ago, in which case no big deal. If not, I need to pull them and spare myself the "magic smoke" ordeal.

The larger issue is finding space for the IIe and the //c. I'm reluctant to leave the IIe in the garage because, while it's largely climate-controlled these days, the leaf blower is often used to remove debris from Mitzi's landscaping efforts. Stuff goes everywhere. I sometimes find the workbench covered with fine dirt and crud, and there's little I can do about it. I hate yards and yard work.

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 13:09 Tuesday, 1 October 2024