I'm sure we've all seen the videos of the Tesla self-immolating in a garage after a flood, but if you keep them dry (and "well lubricated"?), they will perform for you!

We rented an EV6 in Baltimore for the reunion. I enjoyed driving the car. It was the first time I'd experienced regenerative braking. It didn't take long to get used to it, and I really appreciated it. The dash was a bit of a mystery, and figuring out the "forward" and "reverse" thing took a few double glances.

The only things I didn't like about it were the seats (not enough lateral support), and the turning radius seemed pretty huge.

Anyway, as we adapt building codes to our new climate, we'll have to take into consideration using EVs as emergency backup power for household loads.

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 12:49 Tuesday, 8 October 2024