I confess to watching too many videos of the disaster in North Carolina. I didn't spend any time looking for those in Florida.

My correspondent yesterday asked, "And how about all that sand burying houses down SW." I replied that I hadn't seen any videos and we don't have cable anymore.

But this morning my YouTube page is filled with Florida disaster videos, and this one showed sand in houses. (Sand in houses is at the 3:00 min mark.) "Storm Chaser Aaron Rigsby" and his trusty drone. Keeping the world informed.

Or something.

Maybe we should mandate that all homes in Florida be essentially grass huts. That way, when they're washed away, there isn't so much unnatural debris that has to be carted to a landfill somewhere. It's not like we've got an abundance of land we can use to dump our disaster shit on.

And rebuilding shouldn't take as long. I guess we'd still need sewers though.

What happens to all those boats? Are they all repaired? Do they just wind up in a landfill?

Beats me. "Out of sight, out of mind," as they say.

Maybe Storm Chaser Aaron could expand his franchise to include Disaster Debris Chaser. Get a close look at the Florida landscape that has to receive all the sad consequences of our folly and hubris. I'm sure it'd make for compelling viewing. Maybe we could find a big enough sinkhole to drown it all in.

✍️ Reply by email

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 06:30 Friday, 11 October 2024