In the blogosphere, a dogear may be a starred entry in NetNewsWire. It is for me anyway.

AKMA returns to a marmot missive from June to consider the contours of argument as they differ from disagreement.

I'm happy to report that I agree.

Being a platform that often seems more amenable to passionate argumentation than the deliberate, perhaps collaborative, exploration of one another's "patterns of limits," I think this is a welcome insight. Arguments tend to reduce people to opponents, which, if not rendering them and our common humanity invisible, can certainly reduce them to one-dimensional figures.

Which is something of a personal weakness I struggle to overcome, and I hope some personal ornamentation can be an aid to that end.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 04:42 Friday, 4 August 2023