I received the results of my bloodwork yesterday. Everything seems fine, except I do have Lyme Disease! Bummer. Have to go pick up a prescription for some antibiotics today.

I've been feeling pretty old recently, and kind of surprised at how fast that seems to have happened. Everything aches, tired, peripheral nerve pain, knees especially painful, can't recall things that used to just come right to mind, feeling cold when it's 77°F in the house. Some of it is probably age-related, but it just came on so fast. Could be the infection, maybe.

When I saw the doc, she seemed skeptical about ordering the test, Lyme isn't present in Florida. Told her I'd been "glamping" in Pennsylvania and my daughter spotted a red ring on the back of my neck when she was cutting my hair. So she ordered the test.

In my memory, that all happened back in March. Happily, kinda, it was May. Caitie spotted the ring as it was fading, two weeks after I was in the woods. Not long after that, in June, I was trying to get seen at Mayo and was told I wasn't being seen for primary care there anymore.

Not that it might have mattered. I didn't know there was any particular urgency to getting that ring checked out. I just recalled that people often harbored Lyme for years, and it not causing problems until later. It seems that the most effective treatment is early in the infection, and it's kind of uncertain how well this course of antibiotics will be. It's not that Lyme kills you, it's just that it makes you miserable.

Anyway, I'll take the pills and see what happens. Hope for the best. Better than nothing, right?

Passed it along to my classmates who were with me, suggesting they may want to get checked out.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 12:00 Wednesday, 4 October 2023