I'm trying to make yogurt today. I bought some UHT milk and watched a YouTube video, so I'm all set.

After heating the UHT milk to 115°F, I mixed in some plain greek yogurt. Poured the whole shebang into a glass bowl I'd warmed up by running under hot water. (Wasteful of water.) The question then was where to put the mix so the little bugs could stay warm and do their thing.

We have a fancy induction range, and the oven has a "proof" setting. The manual suggests it won't let the temperature go below 125°F. That may be too warm, but I'm not sure, so I'm giving it a try.

Why am I doing this? Unsure at the moment. Partly it's nominally cheaper. 32oz of UHT milk is a couple bucks less than 2lbs of Greek yogurt, I didn't price the regular kind. UHT milk comes in a plasticized paper carton that weighs 50g, the yogurt comes in a plastic container that weighs 30g. I'm not sure which one is "better" for the environment, but I'm inclined to think that the plasticized paper contains less overall plastic than the plastic container.

If I can pull this off, then I'll consider the tradeoffs more closely, though I doubt I'll ever have the kind of data I'd need to make a clear choice on the basis of reduced environmental impact. Wallet impact may be clearer.

I'm letting it do its thing for five and a half hours, then I'll give it a little test, or taste. There's some reason to believe a little longer may be better in terms of taste and consistency, but I may be running hot so maybe faster? If I'm not killing it.

I'll keep you posted.

In other news, it occurred to me on the bike ride that I was probably conflating a season of Pennyworth and one of the Robert Downey Jr. Sherlock Holmes movies with the Victorian sex and drug cult thing in Bodies. Pennyworth isn't Victorian, but similar characters.

Not that it matters. Just glad I can still retrieve some memories.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 11:43 Thursday, 2 November 2023