Does anyone else think Bradley Cooper is way overrated? Way overrated.

I just noticed that the sound that nuts make when I begin to chew them sounds a lot like a riff or theme in the Batman Begins movie soundtrack. ("Whooom...whoom...whoom...whoom..." Watched it the other night. On Blu-ray 4K UHD.)

I can unlock my iMac with my password much faster than my Apple Watch can. That is, when that actually works.

We don't actually own any of our digital media products. We have licenses that can be revoked. I'm buying less digital media from Apple services because of the enshittification of the Apple TV experience; and because I don't trust corporations to not revoke the licenses without refunding my money, or to not change the digital content without my consent. ("Han shot first.") For movies and CDs I want to enjoy for at least as long as the medium lasts, I'm buying the physical product. Christopher Nolan is right.

Atoms > bits.

I expect corporations will stop selling physical media within the next few years. Claiming "plastic in the environment" or carbon footprint of manufacturing and shipping and so on. It won't be about the environment or the climate. Expect the timing will have something to do with the degree of broadband penetration in those regions where it is currently deficient, and the amount of revenue that represents.

How hard do you suppose it is to subscribe to a streaming service for one month, binge all the content you care about on that service and then cancel? Wait a year or two for your favorite series to return and repeat. I expect minimum subscription lengths or term-tiered pricing are in our near future too. When Season 2 of House of the Dragon is fully unspooled, I'll subscribe to Max for one month.

I already broke one of my 2024 resolutions. On the upside, one of my other resolutions was to stop procrastinating.

Apple News+ is a magazine rack, it's not a "news" platform. If I want to find out what's going on, I know I won't find it in Apple News+.

We're all going to get really interested in learning to grow our own food soon.

I'd never heard of "pot likker" before. I have it for breakfast with my eggs now. Well, technically, the "greens" part. It's easy to grow greens. I like it a lot more than I thought I would.

We need to re-think shoes, from a sustainability standpoint. My soles wear out far sooner than any other part of the shoe, and they can't be re-soled. Doesn't matter how expensive the shoes are, it seems. Mine wear unevenly, much more so on the right foot than the left.

That is all. Carry out the plan of the day.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 06:17 Wednesday, 3 January 2024