My wife's daughter mentioned something about a community effort to read Robert Caro's The Power Broker over the course of a year. I told her I had a copy, but hadn't started reading it yet. I bought it after I'd watched the documentary Turn Every Page, about Caro and his editor, Robert Gottlieb. I asked her if she wanted me to mail it to her. She asked me if I wanted to read it with her.

That sounded more fun.

So I went looking for the genesis of this idea. She's a working parent with a precocious 19-month-old, so I thought I could figure that part out on my own.

This seems to be it. So, if you're interested in eating an elephant "one bite at a time," 100 pages a month, here's an opportunity to do it as a group effort. A "book club," if you will.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 06:48 Thursday, 4 January 2024