Against my better instincts, I bought an Apple Watch Series 9 (before the decision, subsequently overturned, that briefly caused Apple to stop selling it). I had one niggling issue with it, the weather complication refused to display any weather data.

Life being what it is, I cursed Apple and ignored it after wasting a fair amount of time trying to get it to work.

Well, yesterday morning, my Apple Watch 9 refused to wake up! Well, stay awake anyway. I'd hold the crown in and enter my pass code, it'd appear to be awake and alert and seconds later, it'd go back to "sleep."

I thought maybe it couldn't detect my wrist. We were heading to the Outlet Mall to spend gift cards, so I grabbed my Apple Watch Series 6, which I use for sleep tracking. I figured when I got home I'd spend some time with Apple Support in chat. Well, the Series 6 did the same thing! Relieved that the Series 9 likely wasn't defective, we headed off to the store.

Toward the end of our errand, I went to the car while Mitzi was shopping. Figured I'd spend some time with the phone and try to figure out what was going on.

Turns out, it was the iPhone. It was "stuck" in sleep focus mode. I had to turn off focus mode entirely, I couldn't get it to switch to "work" (basically, "do not disturb" with exceptions for certain people).

Re-booted the phone and it seems to be fine now. But it was pretty annoying for a company whose products were once praised because they "just worked."

I later updated to the latest WatchOS and the weather complication is also now working properly.

Fast forward to this morning, and the damn iMac didn't automatically shift out of dark mode after sunrise! I didn't notice right away until I went to a web site and the menu bar turned bright red and all of Safari's menu items disappeared. The menubar icons for apps that have them were still present, but the text was gone. Closed the tab, but problem remained.

Switched to Finder and the menubar cleared, but then I noticed I was still in dark mode. Went to Settings and confirmed it was in Automatic, then just selected, what? Light mode? Normal mode, I guess.

Anyway, resolved my question about what I wanted to blog about. Grumpy old man stuff. I used to be an Apple "fanboi," but now they're just another over-sized, over-valued corporation that pretends to care about stuff, but mostly only cares about making money.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 08:03 Thursday, 11 January 2024