I have an appointment for a neurology consult on Monday to look into why my toes seem numb. They're not completely numb, but they feel funny and it mostly feels like "numb." Kinda like when I was a kid in New York and it was 20° below zero out and we were outside playing. "I can't feel my toes." Mostly. Not as bad as all that.

Might be something, might not. Might just be decades of walking barefoot on hard surfaces in Florida, running a fair amount and several years of taekwondo. Blood sugar is fine.

But I noticed something else the other day that seems to be happening with increasing frequency. I get these shimmering lines in my visual field. I cover one eye and then the other, and they're present in both eyes, so it doesn't seem to be an eye thing.

Consulting Dr. Google, it seems they might be something called "ocular migraines," and they might be something as well. I don't have a headache, but there's one going on right now and it's also annoying. They pass after a while, but I don't know what prompts them or what they might mean.

I don't know if this neurologist is going to want to talk about ocular migraines on Monday, or toes only; but I have a couple of follow-up appointments with my regular doctor next week as well, so maybe I'll get another consult scheduled.

Otherwise, I'm in ridiculously good health for being as old and as fat as I am.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 08:20 Thursday, 11 January 2024