(GAS is an acronym for "gear acquisition syndrome.")

Spent a lot of last night tossing and turning thinking about buying a camera. Ugh. Looking at getting a used OM-5. Not inexpensive, it'd be over $900. I figure if I wait long enough this feeling will pass, but I've almost pulled the trigger twice now.

The attraction for me is that it's essentially an E-M1 Mk3, which I also own, in a slightly smaller, much lighter body. I took the OM-1 and the E-P7 with me to Charleston, but only shot with the E-P7 because it hangs off my wrist comfortably. I took the RRS bottom plate off the OM-1 to make it a little lighter, but with the 12-40mm/f2.8 it still requires a strap. An OM-5 would give me kind of the "best of both worlds." A lightweight body with an electronic viewfinder for carrying around when I'm "out and about." (Which, frankly, isn't that often. Alas.)

I can afford it, but it's like anything else, there are probably a lot more useful things I could do with $900. Like a heat-pump, ventless dryer.

Right now I'm figuring I'll wait until February and see how I feel.

But as they say, "The struggle is real."

And the little neon light show going on in my head has ended. For now.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 08:28 Thursday, 11 January 2024