KEH, the used camera dealer, is going to be in town today and tomorrow. I've put together a big box of stuff to put back in circulation.

It's always an interesting exercise in trying to decide what I want to be rid of. Partly because I've done this about three times now, and it seems like things that I once wanted to be rid of keep finding their way back to me. (At some expense, naturally.)

So I really kind of wrestled with the four thirds stuff I have: three bodies, five lenses. I'd previously sold a 25mm/f2.8 pancake when I got rid of all my four thirds stuff several years ago. Then I bought another copy because I decided I really loved its "rendering." I bought a four thirds to micro-four thirds adapter so I could use it on my E-M1.

So when I happened to travel down the well-worn path about Kodak sensors and color science, I already had a lens I could use with an E-500, which had the last Kodak sensor in a four thirds mount, which made it easier to decide to go ahead and buy an E-500. Then I wanted a good normal zoom to go with it, the fairly large but quite nice 14-54mm/f2.8-3.5, so I got one of those. Anyway, one thing leads to another and now I have three bodies and five lenses that I don't use very often and take up quite a bit of my limited shelf space, and attention.

So that's all going. And I'm hoping that this experience will prevent me from doing the same thing all over again.

There are also a couple of "special" cameras that I once thought I'd be interested in but seldom use, the DJI Pocket 2 and the Olympus TG-Tracker. The Pocket 2 is a little gimbal mounted 1/1.7" sensor camera meant for vlogging, which I don't do. And the Tracker is an "action cam," and that's pretty much out of the question for a 66-year-old fat man.

Then there are a handful of lenses that I have duplicates of because they came with cameras I'd bought, some accessories I didn't know how to describe or grade on the web site, a bunch of batteries that I don't need that hopefully they can resell or recycle and some other bits and bobs that might be worth a buck or two.

I have four Olympus XZ-1s. I debated selling two of them, one is new in the box, the other is the "limited edition" Titanium (silver) model, which included an evf, the VF-3. When I bought it the evf had been removed by the seller to sell separately. I bought another one and put it in the box to make it complete. I figured those might be worth a little something, but I love that little camera so much that I know I'd end up buying another one if something happened to my much-used cameras, a white one I bought new from Amazon on closeout over a decade ago, and a black one I bought used and mostly shoot with today.

I also debated selling the Pentax MX-1. I decided that I haven't used it enough to really know how I feel about it, and they're rather dear on the auction site. So that's sticking around for the time being.

Anyway, I've got to get all that stuff in the car and head on out.

If only they had a similar reseller for calculators...

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 07:58 Friday, 19 January 2024