It occurred to me that I didn't mention why the five stages were relevant in the preceding post. Rather than edit it, I'll just add this.

Chiefly, they describe the process by which we accommodate loss or profound change in our circumstances. We are habituated creatures, and profound change can be unwelcome or upsetting, even as it is often strongly desired at the same time.

Our climate is changing profoundly. Our civilization has changed and is changing profoundly. For the better? There are people who like to be "glass half full" contrarians, and who promote the notion that things have never been better! And yes, the trajectories of many metrics are positive, until they can no longer be sustained by the myths that fueled them. The myths have been frayed for quite some time, and now they've begun to unravel.

The five stages can offer a framework to understand what's taking place, and what is likely to come.

The old disclaimer from Groundhog Day was that I'm an authority on nothing. I make all this shit up. You're encouraged to do your own thinking.

That's still the case. I'd be happy to be wrong.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 08:19 Saturday, 27 January 2024