I've been re-arranging the furniture in anticipation of Mitzi's sister's arrival. Due to her injury, she requires the use of an armed chair to stand up until she's fully recovered. I was thinking a small .32 automatic. (I'm here all week.)

Well, we have a large, expensive couch where each segment can recline. I usually sit at the same spot because there's an end table there, and I'm a guy and I can never be too far from a horizontal surface that needs cluttering. This has recently become something of an issue in what is otherwise a picture of domestic bliss. It may have something to do with the way the upholstery is responding to my body, or maybe she just wants the end table. Could be both.

Anyway, her sister won't be able to extricate herself from the couch, so my armed recliner has been moved from my office to the living room, where it doesn't really fit, but it's only temporary. I'm debating whether we should remove a section of the couch and store it somewhere (where?), replacing it with the recliner. It'd look stupid, but no more so than the present configuration.

I nap in that recliner, so that's going to be something of a sacrifice. It's only a 15-minute nap (I set a timer), but I usually find it refreshing. I also read in the recliner. I'll have to find some other accommodation.

I've also been relocating Mitzi's office equipment. I took the opportunity to update her OS as well. I made an account for her sister on Mitzi's laptop, so she'll have a machine to do her email and online banking and so on.

Mitzi ordered some kind of toilet seat replacement that has arms, which I'm to install once it's delivered. She sent me the order confirmation email, so I checked out the reviews. They weren't great. She said they looked at dozens of them, and they all had similar complaints. We'll see. I suppose it depends on the user. Mitzi's sister is as thin as a reed, so it's not like she's going to be putting a lot of stress on the thing. It'll probably be fine.

I've rolled up the rug in the living room and stashed that in the garage. It's got something of a profile at the edges, and might be a trip hazard. Our tile floors in the kitchen and bathrooms are slippery when wet, so I've asked her to make sure she has shower shoes, something with some grip so she won't slip. The shower contains two substantial grab bars, and Mitzi will be attending her as well. I gather we're also getting a chair for the shower.

For an over-55 community, Pulte made some genuinely stupid design choices that we were unable to change. We have a walk-in shower, but you step down into it. It's got a glass wall and door, so there's no assist bar there. When I remodeled my condo, I designed the shower with a three-quarter height wall fronting the alcove, and no shower door, and especially no glass. I hate glass in showers, if for no other reason than water marks. But it's just a bad material choice in a home for older adults.

I expect we'll do a remodel of the bathroom in a few years, before anything else, to specifically address that issue.

Well, just wanted to take a break after rearranging all this stuff. About time to call Mom.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 09:38 Sunday, 28 January 2024