Mitzi's sister arrived on Monday and we've been adjusting to the new accommodations here. It turns out that the guest bed was unsuitable due to the nature of her injury, so I'm sleeping in the guest room while Mitzi sleeps with her sister. Which is perhaps just as well, as she requires some assistance in making her way to the facilities at night.

My recliner has been moved into the living room and that's the sacrifice I feel most acutely. I spend most of my time in the Command Cave, alternating between the desk and the recliner, and without it I feel a bit at sea. Additionally, in these early days there is a great deal of communication and coordination taking place, which doesn't really involve me but is definitely within my range of hearing. I can close the doors to the office, but I find I can't sit at this desk chair all day.

We have a sun room that we call "the library" because it has a nice built-in set of cabinets and shelves with most of our books. It has two sitting chairs, but they were purchased more for their appearance than their comfort as seats. They're mid-century modern and the upholstery color matches the color of the built-ins. They look nice, but you wouldn't want to sit there for an hour reading a book.

I expect that as all the various challenges are overcome, questions answered, and prescriptions filled the buzz of activity will die down. I like to watch the evening news, they like to talk, so there is some conflict there. I'll try and get an OTA antenna hooked up to the TV in my office (it's mainly used for video games), and plug some headphones in. The question is where to sit. Last night it occurred to me that one of the beach chairs might be better than the office chair. At least the back reclines a bit, though it won't elevate my feet.

There is some fraying amidst the friction and the frustration. Hopefully this will pass as routines are established and I adapt to our new circumstances. It's not forever, but it will be at least for the next several weeks.

I'm going to get out of here in a few minutes and drive down to river, maybe get a few shots. Then park the car upland from the river near the preserve trail and do a little hiking with the cameras. Ideally it'd be about 10° warmer, (it's 41°F right now). It'll warm pretty quickly once the sun is up though.

So it goes.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 06:16 Thursday, 1 February 2024