Jack's worried he hasn't prepared adequately for the meetup on Saturday. He shouldn't, it's more a conversation than a tutorial. "Why to," rather than "how to." We'll offer some of our experiences on how to, but mostly it's about why Tinderbox makes for a great blogging platform.

I think Jack's experience with other platforms especially complements the discussion. I know nothing about so many of the other platforms and applications I read about, but it'll be great to give the audience some different perspectives.

I, myself, feel a bit delinquent. I've run out of gas a bit on new marmot features. I mentioned that I'd bumped into the past president of the photography club, and he'd invited me to come to a meeting. Well, that was yesterday afternoon and I did go. It's a small group, but I enjoyed the presentation and they seem to have some interesting activities. They have a monthly theme and next month's is storytelling, images that, uh, tell a story. You don't have to take them during the month, you can pull from your library. This month's was motion, and there was a presentation of the submissions depicting motion.

And I spent this afternoon, so far, tweaking the 14" M3 MBP so I'll have all the apps I need up and running for the meetup. For some reason, I can't seem to share my screen from the iMac. I am able to do it from the MBP, so that's what I'll be using. I had to enter a bunch of registration codes, buy a couple of licenses and so on.

I have an idea I'm going to test either today or tomorrow getting the marmot up and running on the MBP, with the Photos script installed. Once I verify I can post from the MBP, I'll spend some time configuring windows and tabs so I can illustrate the various activities smoothly. I shouldn't have too much anxiety Friday night.

Mitzi tried calling a repair guy for the fridge. Earliest they could get here is Saturday, and that's problematic from a food storage point of view, to say nothing of me blathering on about Tinderbox on a zoom call while someone's horsing the fridge about.

So I said, "Let me try something," to Mitzi. I went out to the circuit breaker panel and cycled power to the fridge.

It's working now.

I suspect, because we'd blocked some of the vents in the fridge (too much food with a house guest, I guess), the machine was working too hard and perhaps the logic got fouled up. Maybe it was trying to protect the compressor or something. There are no error codes on the front panel. So I figured there was nothing to lose just rebooting the thing.

Got a PO (power outage?) alert on the front panel. Acknowledged it. Set it to Max Cool and let it do its thing. All is well now. Ice is being made. It would have been $125 for the tech to show up and "diagnose" the issue.

I was a hero.

Funny story. The other day, Mitzi was mopping the floor and she came by the cave to tell me we were almost out of floor cleaner (it's a Bissell power mop of some kind), and asked me to order some more. I rogered up for it.

So she's mopping the floor again yesterday and I decided I'd better order that detergent. I ordered some lens pens and other stuff as well. This morning, Amazon shows up and drops off the package. I tell her, "Your soap is here," and she sees the lens pens in the box. She says something like, "Wow, I've never seen Amazon do that before."

I'm like, "What? Put two products in a box? They'll put as many as they can fit in one."

She says, "No, put my order in with your order."

"But, this is my order. You said to order detergent, I ordered detergent."

"I ordered detergent! I figured you'd forgotten."

"Honey, I never forget. I just remember later sometimes."

Which Mitzi and her sister thought was hysterical.

I'm here all week.

Her detergent just arrived, btw.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 14:54 Thursday, 22 February 2024