Well, it wasn't a long walk. I noticed the cars lining the road and folks gathering in a driveway. I saw my neighbor Tracy and asked, "Another party I wasn't invited to?" (Facetiously.)

Not a party. Kind of a wake for a neighbor who'd recently passed. Her daughter was here from Oregon and wanted to have a get-together. I barely knew the woman, having met her only once.

So I turned around and went home. At least she has a lovely day for it.

Here's the kind of blog post I enjoy. My daughter has a fear of flying, though I don't think it's as intense as James'. But dig this:

Thought cannot fix thought. This was my magnificent revelation at 35,000 feet, which I now realize is the point of everything from Zen to stoicism to the power of now. But I need to learn my lessons the hard way.

That's what blogging's about. Or should be, anyway.

You too have a complicated interior life that deserves to be explored and shared.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 14:13 Saturday, 24 February 2024