The meetup went really well I thought. I saw James Fallows in the audience briefly. I guess he didn't stick around though, alas.

There were some good questions, and a couple of them actually dealt with issues I wrote about in a previous post today, so I'm glad I gave that some thought on the walk this morning.

Jack was dazzling with his facility with Tinderbox. I'm going to be picking his brain going forward.

The one photo demo I thought I had sorted yesterday failed again. I'll be working on that too.

I did miss the iMac's 27" screen. The Zoom interface takes up a lot of real estate when you're sharing your screen, which entails a certain amount of fumbling around moving windows and so on.

There are pretty fair number of details you kind of have to get tied down to begin blogging with Tinderbox; but they're fairly comprehensible and once you have them set up, it's pretty much just a turnkey operation after that.

Someone asked if I know if anyone's reading the marmot. Well, I do. I don't know how many or how often, but I do know it shows up in folks' RSS feeds. I see mentions from time to time, I get occasional feedback on Mastodon.

But that's not really the point. I don't write the marmot to get attention. I write the marmot to "see what I think." I know it has to compete with a million other things for others' attention, and that can be a pretty steep barrier. But it doesn't matter if I don't need to get over it, if I don't need what's on the other side.

Those are the kinds of blogs I enjoy reading. You can smell someone promoting their "personal brand" from a mile away. I just want to know how my neighbors are doing. What's going on in their neck of the woods.

I was glad to see Loren Webster posting again. I had made a mental note to mention Loren in the meetup, but I remembered that after the meeting. Loren's 83 and still blogging, and he goes back to the early days, in the very early 00s, maybe before.

Anyway, it's a beautiful day out there. Think I'm going to go take another walk.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 13:43 Saturday, 24 February 2024