The Fuji X100VI is the new hotness, but I just read this review of an older (new) camera that kind of took me by surprise when I got one. It's the OM-D E-M10 MkIV. I got mine in October 2020, not long after launch, because a pricing error by Amazon made it too good to refuse: $499 with the kit lens.

It became my everyday, walking around camera with the 75-300 mounted.

I gave it to my son because he needed a good camera and I have too many. The OM-5 is far more capable and about as small, but it can be a little intimidating in a way. Don't get me wrong, I love the OM-5.

But that E-M10 MkIV is just such a fun little body. It doesn't impose anything in the way of expectations on you. It's unassuming. It just says, "C'mon, let's go take some pictures!" I kind of miss it, but I still have too many cameras.

I wrote a post earlier today all about this camera, because I'd been thinking about it. Then I found this surprisingly current review, by a familiar name, which made me delete that post and write this one.

This summed it up for me:

One might be tempted to dismiss this camera as an also-ran but that would be a huge error, because in this case, the whole is rather more than the sum of its parts. Just like its predecessor, it’s a lovely little camera that’s a joy to use and delivers great pictures.
Originally posted at Nice Marmot 21:21 Thursday, 29 February 2024