I'm kinda diggin' this 14" MacBook Pro and so I want to be able to move back and forth between the iMac and the laptop without a lot of futzing around with open files and so on. So I'm trying a little experiment.

I duplicated Captain's Log and renamed it iCloud Test copy on the iMac. The AppleScript automations won't work, but that's not important for this test. I wanted to see what happens when I have the same document open on two instances of Tinderbox on different machines.

I repaired to the recliner and launched Tinderbox which had been closed with all windows closed at quitting. I opened iCloud Test copy and made three entries. Then I closed the MBP and went and watched Jeopardy!

I got the Final Jeopardy question about Ephesus right, only because BAINBRIDGE (CGN-25) made a port visit to Antalya, Turkey in like, 1989(?), and we had a Navy chaplain on board who was also the tours coordinator and we shared a stateroom. He went to Ephesus. I vaguely recall him telling me why he went to Ephesus, something about an apostle or something. It took me the whole jingle time to dredge that memory up from the mists of time, but I was quite pleased with myself.

Anyway, came back to the iMac to see what might be up with iCloud Test copy.

I was surprised to find that my Tinderbox window had shrunk in size and moved to the bottom left corner of my iMac's screen. But there in the iCloud Test copy tab was the document I'd edited on the MBP, and there were the three entries I'd made!

I'll leave both versions open tonight and see what kind of contention arises when both create a Saturday container, and each Saturday creates a Midwatch entry. I'm guessing things will get pretty fouled up at that point, but we shall see.

I recall a Bloom County comic with that really smart kid doing something the others didn't understand, and the punchline was "You can't argue with research!"

Words to live by.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 20:00 Friday, 8 March 2024