I'd added the idea of creating a Midwatch entry to each new day's entry in the log. Worked on it today. At first I thought I'd have to check the time, etc. Did a bunch of reading at aTbRef about date and time comparisons.

Finally the lightbulb went off. Who cares?

Wrote a simple Edict in the p_Day prototype,

$MyString="Midwatch";

create($MyString);

Once it's "created," it won't do it again. One and done. Keep it simple, dumbass!

Then I recalled I wanted to create a change log to document how it's been evolving. So I logged that idea.

Then I solved it by deciding I'd just enter "Change:" (with the colon) in the $Title of entries documenting changes to the log.

An Agent can gather all those as a separate "Change Log."

So then I entered, "Change: Added Edict to p_Day to create note Midwatch". Put the code for the Edict in the text.

Tomorrow I'll work on something for it to do, but it already has one nice use. With the first entry already created, if I'm going to create a manual entry all I have to do is hit Return. If there is no first child in the Day container, I either have to remember to hit Shift-Return to create a child, or make the entry and then hit Tab to make it a child. The scripts will create a child in the container automatically.

Originally posted at Nice Marmot 15:23 Friday, 8 March 2024